Picture
Wee wittle Andwew on his first day of school.
As a child, I was sent to the principal’s office a grand total of three times, and each time I felt as if the world was going to come down with all of its punitive powers on top of my (not yet graying) head. I was petrified of getting in trouble and always assumed that whatever it was that I was doing could warrant immediate administrative action. Was I conspiracy theorist in the making? Possibly. Was I right about the world scheming to destroy me? NO DOUBT, but, since my last visit to the principal’s office about 10 years ago, I like to think I have gained a bit of confidence in dealing with the great unknown of my actions. Realizing that more often than not, my actions were in the legal, ethical, and universal right. Justin Beiber calls it “swag”; Austin Powers calls it “mojo,” but I just call it my “inner Fonz”. As I went into my first day of work at the College Stendhal in Nantes, my inner Fonz was put to the test.  The following tale has been translated entirely into English to enthrall those who are not speakers of French. Here it goes.

I walk into the front door of the school and am greeted by the front desk receptionist. I explain that I am the new American fellow to help with the English classes.  He cordially greets me and then goes off to find one of the other English teachers. He returns with a teacher who also cordially greets me and immediately puts me to work with the other teachers, observing and helping out with one of their classes.  All seems to be going right, but then one of my new coworkers pops her head into the classroom where I am working and beckons me into the hallway.  She says to me, “So we are in a bit of trouble.” I give her the typical confused foreigner look. She continues, “We forgot to have you check in with the administration to make sure your paperwork was in order and that you actually are who you say you are and not a pedophile or other wrong-doer looking to be with the kids.”

Of course. On the first day of my first big kid job, my bosses are wondering if I have stolen my own identity and/or if I am some miscreant or escaped criminal. Conspiracy? Not yet. My inner Fonz is still strong thinking that it is just a misunderstanding. I’ll just report to the upset administrators, and all will be well.  My coworker adds with sense of fear, “She is pretty angry right now. I can stay in there and translate for you if you want. She is kind of scary. She’ll yell at you for about five minutes, and then, you’ll get a chance to talk.”  Conspiracy yet? HECK YES. The frogs have had it out for me since LITERALLY day one, but my inner Fonz hasn’t given up on me yet. I assure my coworker that I’ll be fine and that she could go back to her class.

I timidly walk down the long and narrow hallway reminiscent of that moment in the Wizard of Oz where Dorothy and crew go to their appointment with the wizard…except, I lack my usual ruby slippers and three musically complimentary supporting characters. I step into the office and am greeted by the administrator, a smiling elderly French lady, but not any ordinary smile. It was that smile I remember from being in the principal’s office years ago: the administrator’s smile that really meant, “I am so glad you are here because now I am going to rip you a new one.” We exchange pleasantries and than the hammer drops.

Admin: “Do you realize how many regulations you broke this morning?  How do we know that you are not a criminal? If you are the new teacher, why didn’t you reply to all of my emails from the summer? This is ridiculous! Are you sure this is the right job for you, son?”

Andrew: ”…Oh I’m sorry ma’am. Here is my passport and contract if that is any help, and I never received these emails. Are you sure you have the correct address?” (We check. It’s the wrong email)

Admin: “Regardless, you should have known better than to just go to work without even checking in with the people that are in charge!”

Andrew: “I admit that was pretty foolish, but in America we have this phrase called ‘the silver lining’ which means that even out of something that is an unfortunate situation, one can find some positive aspects. For instance, I was able to assist teachers that really needed the help today.”

Admin: “…Mr. Bradshaw, no such phrase exists in France.”

I finish the initial paperwork and then go back to my classroom with no tears, no new gray hairs, and my inner Fonz giving me his patented thumbs up. I made it.  Though it was a bumpy one, it is a first day of work that I can look back on fondly, and in spite of a terrible first interaction, I think I made a friend in the administration. As I went to check in the second day, the administrator was on the phone waiting on hold.  With a typical French tone of apathetic criticism, she says, “Well, at least the hold music is nice,” and with a slight smirk she jabs, “…silver lining.”

Oh Happy Days.

Ta mère
10/8/2012 03:36:44 am

Ehem, and WHEN did you go to the principal's office?!

Reply
Gracie
10/10/2012 09:35:23 am

You must always tell the people in charge before you go to work for them. Obviously. Because that makes sense. Holistically and all. Xoxo.

Reply
Lauren (from duke tip)
11/30/2012 04:02:54 am

hey Andrew! I just stumbled upon your blog via facebook. You write well. Extremely well. This blog is quite amusing.

"Mr. Bradshaw, no such phrase exists in France"
That reminds me, my AP french teacher liked posting quotes in our classroom. One week, her sign read "Après le deluge, le beau temps." She explained it was the french equivalent of "every cloud has a silver lining." I realize these phrases are not exactly the same, but indeed similar. I wonder if that's a common french idiom or something obscure she dug up.

Reply
12/1/2012 03:38:40 am

You are right, Lauren--that expression is the French equivalent, if I remember correctly. I had forgotten about it. Merci beaucoup!

Reply



Leave a Reply.